OpenAI · Direct provider API · United States
Can I use GPT-5.4 mini via Direct API in United States?
For ship a commercial product, the current result is unknown. The answer separates availability, licence, contractual and regulatory gates.
Unknown—the evidence does not close the decision.
GPT-5.4 mini via Direct provider API for “ship a commercial product” in United States. A current verdict is withheld; the last supported source observations remain visible.
Earliest source review deadline: 2026-10-09T00:00:00.000Z.
availability
?Current evidence needs review
The retained source observation has expired or was not verified in this review. Review the listed exact route and jurisdiction sources before relying on this conclusion.
license
?Current evidence needs review
The retained source observation has expired or was not verified in this review. Review the listed exact route and jurisdiction sources before relying on this conclusion.
contract
?Current evidence needs review
The retained source observation has expired or was not verified in this review. Review the listed exact route and jurisdiction sources before relying on this conclusion.
regulatory
?Current evidence needs review
The retained source observation has expired or was not verified in this review. Review the listed exact route and jurisdiction sources before relying on this conclusion.
- Route price
- Current price needs review
- Dated prior price
- $0.75 input · $4.50 output / 1M
- Governing terms
- OpenAI Services Agreement
The dated prior quote is retained below; verify exact billing before using it.
Effective Not stated by source · checked 2026-10-02
Observed 2026-10-02; current pricing is withheld.
gpt-5.4-mini-2026-03-17
Primary-source clauses
What this answer rests on.
Every citation includes the exact retained clause, effective date and last verification date.
pricing
OpenAI official model pricing
Model page: snapshot identity and per-1M standard input, cached-input and output rates; regional-processing endpoints add 10%
Effective Not stated by source · checked 2026-10-02 · review due 2026-10-09T00:00:00.000Z · needs-review
terms
OpenAI Services Agreement
§2.2 permits API integration; §3.3 sets use restrictions, including competing-model training except Permitted Exceptions; §4.1 allocates input/output ownership; §5.4 governs PHI; §6.6 governs pricing changes and corrections; §§16.11–16.12 impose trade controls and supported-country limits
Effective 2026-01-01 · checked 2026-10-02 · review due 2026-11-01T00:00:00.000Z · verified
availability
OpenAI API supported countries
Current supported-country list includes Canada, United States, United Kingdom and EU member states; Services Agreement §§16.11–16.12 separately impose trade-control and supported-country limits
Effective Current list; checked 2026-08-27 · checked 2026-10-02 · review due 2026-10-09T00:00:00.000Z · needs-review
regulation
US joint enforcement statement on automated systems
FTC, EEOC, CFPB and DOJ joint statement: existing consumer, employment, civil-rights and competition laws apply to automated systems
Effective 2023-04-25 · checked 2026-10-02 · review due 2026-11-01T00:00:00.000Z · verified
Related route-first answers
DeepSeek V4 Pro 0813
Direct API · United States
unknownGrok 4.3
Direct API · United States
unknownKimi K3
Direct API · United States
unknownClaude Haiku 4.5
Direct API · Canada
Evidence-backed product guidance, not legal advice. The regulatory screen covers only the selected sector, data class, decision role and audience; it is not a complete legal assessment. Recheck volatile terms before production use.